Experience Colonial Mobile like never before.
Fort Conde is open 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily
Admission is free.
Located at 150 South Royal Street
For more information call 251-208-7569.
In this immersive, interactive exhibit in the heart of Historic Fort Conde, visitors can learn about the people who colonized early Mobile. See historic artifacts of Native Americans and Europeans who played large roles in the evolution of the Port City in a time shaped by innovation, conquest, plunder, piracy, and war.
Explore offshoot exhibit rooms called Lifeways that give visitors a taste of what Colonial life was like.
About Fort Conde
The History Museum began renovating the Fort in October 2010, and phase one of the project, which are repairs to the buildings infrastructure, required that the History Museum close the exhibits at the fort to the public for an extended period while the renovations were being completed.
Over the past four years, the History Museum of Mobile has renovated the Fort in an economically and fiscally-responsible way, reallocating funds from existing contracts to pay for Fort renovations.
For more information, call (251) 208-7304. To book a tour, click here.
Originally founded in 1702 at 27-Mile Bluff up river, Mobile was relocated in 1711 to the current site where a temporary wooden stockade fort was constructed to protect the town. It was named Fort Louis after the old fort up river. In 1723, construction of a new brick fort with a stone foundation began. Renamed Fort Condé in honor of King Louis XIVs brother.
Fort Condé protected Mobile and its citizens for nearly 100 years from 1723-1820. It was built by the French as a defense against British and Spanish attack on the strategic location of Mobile and its Bay, the eastern most part of the Louisiana colony. The military importance of Mobile and Fort Condé was huge. The fort and town protected access into the strategic lands between the Mississippi River and the Atlantic colonies along the Alabama and Tombigbee Rivers.
Fort Condé and its surrounding features covered about 11 acres of land. It was built of local brick, stone, earthen dirt walls, and cedar wood. Twenty black slaves and five white workmen did initial work on the fort. If the full size fort were present today, it would take up large sections of Church, Royal, Government, St. Emanuel, and Theatre Streets in downtown Mobile.
From 1763 to 1780, England was in possession of Mobile and the fort was renamed Fort Charlotte in honor of King George IIIs wife. From 1780 to1813, Spain ruled Mobile and the fort was renamed Fort Carlota. In 1813, Mobile was occupied by United States troops and the fort again named Fort Charlotte.
In 1820, Congress authorized the sale and removal of the fort since it was no longer needed for defense. City funds paid for the demolition to make way for new streets and construction built towards the river and southward. By late 1823, most above ground traces of Mobiles fort were gone.
The current Fort Condé, about 1/3 of the original fort recreated in 4/5-scale, opened on July 4, 1976 as part of Mobiles United States bicentennial celebration.